Skip to content ↓

Our Governors

The GDST Academy Trust has overall responsibility for the academy which is exercised through the Academy Trust Board (“ATB”) whose members are the Governors of the academy. The ATB monitors the vision and strategic direction, approves budgets, annual accounts and key policies and reviews academic performance. The Girls' Day School Trust (as principal sponsors) appoints the majority of the trustees of the ATB, which is chaired by a GDST Council Member. Other trustees include a representative of the HSBC Education Programme (our co-sponsors of The Belvedere Academy) and the two Chairmen of the GDST Academy Trust local governing bodies (from Birkenhead High School Academy and The Belvedere Academy).

The academy also has a Local Governing Body (“LGB”) which is accountable to the ATB. The role of the LGB includes monitoring the academy’s financial and academic performance, approving policies which relate solely to the academy, and promoting the academy and fostering links with the local community.

The Principal is appointed by the ATB and is accountable to the ATB. The Principal has overall executive responsibility for the academy, including specifically for the following activities which have been formally delegated to the Principal by the ATB:

  • the development of the Academy’s Strategic Development Plan and its implementation;
  • the internal organisation, management and control of the Academy;
  • the implementation of all policies approved by the ATB and LGB;
  • the direction of the teaching and curriculum.

Further information about the roles and responsibilities and attendance at meetings can be found in the Register of Interests 2018 which can be downloaded on the link below.

Currently the LGB is made up of:

Governor   Responsibility
Kathy Anstey Chair
George Davies  Deputy Chair
Debra Johnson Higher Education Link / SEND Governor
Peter Barlow  Legal Governor and Safeguarding Governor
Lynne Kelly  Support Staff Governor / SEND Governor
Daniel Wakefield Teacher Governor
Beccy McDowell  Junior Parent Governor
Kate Holthofer  Junior Parent Governor / Careers Governor